From the log and stone buildings that date to the 18th century to the clean lines of a home designed by Frank Lloyd Wright, the Bluegrass Region boasts a wide range of historic architecture.
Historic Boone Tavern Hotel & Restaurant – 100 Main St | 859.985.3700
Boone Tavern Hotel and Restaurant was built in 1909. Construction of Boone Tavern began in 1907 based on designs by the New York architectural firm Cady & See at a cost of $20,000. The building, made of bricks manufactured by students in the College's brickyard, was constructed by the College's Woodwork Department.
L&N Railroad Depot – Berea Welcome Center – 3 Artist Circle | 859.986.2540
Built in 1917 and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Find information here to plan your tour of town and through the Bluegrass region. From the Welcome Center Depot you can walk to many fine shops in the Artisan Village and visit the largest concentration of working studios in Berea. Open 7 days a week from 9am-5pm. Closed Sundays Jan 1 – Mar 31.
The jailer’s home was built between 1820-24, and the accompanying dungeon cells were built in 1857 and housed prisoners through the 1890s.
Cynthiana – henryclaycs.org | Phone: 859.231.0315
A two-story log cabin built in 1790 was utilized by Henry Clay as a law office. The two-story stone jail and courtyard were completed in 1888 and were built entirely with hand tools.
Danville – parks.ky.gov/parks/historicsites/constitution-square/default.aspx | Phone: 859.239.7089
The Constitution Square State Historic Site is where Kentucky’s constitution was signed. Log cabin meeting houses, the courthouse, jail and post office are open for tours. Also the McDowell House & Apothecary Shop dates back to the 1790s. Dr. Ephraim McDowell performed the first abdominal surgery there on Christmas Day, 1809.
The Old State Capitol was used from 1831-1910 and has a cantilevered spiral staircase. history.ky.gov | 502.564.1792
The Federal-style Old Governor’s Mansion was home to 33 Kentucky governors from 1798-1914. historicproperties.ky.gov | 502.564.3449
There are three early 19th century homes: Liberty Hall, the Orlando Brown House and the Vest-Lindsey House. libertyhall.org | 502-227-2560
In addition, there is a house designed by famous American architect Frank Lloyd Wright.
Georgetown – cardomecenter.com | 502.863.1575, ext 101
The Cardome Centre is a former monastery building built for the Sisters of the Visitation in 1898. Georgetown College, which was founded in 1829, is the oldest Baptist college west of the Allegheny Mountains. In addition, Ward Hall is Kentucky’s largest Greek Revival house.
Harrodsburg – harrodsburgky.com | 800.355.9192
Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill is America’s largest restored Shaker village with 34 original structures where costumed interpreters chronicle Shaker life. Morgan Row–the oldest row house in Kentucky–contains a genealogical library. The Old Mud Meeting House was built in 1800 as the first Low Dutch Reformed Church building west of the Alleghenies.
Four beautiful 19th century homes–Ashland–the Henry Clay Estate, Waveland State Historic Site, the Mary Todd Lincoln House and the Hunt-Morgan House–stand as living reminders of Lexington’s rich history. The homes offer a variety of architectural styles, antique collections, gardens and historic exhibits.
Henry Clay Estate: henryclay.org | 859.266.8581
Waveland State Historic Site: parks.ky.gov/parks/historicsites/waveland/history.aspx | 859.272.3611
Mary Todd Lincoln House: mtlhouse.org | 859-233-9999
Hunt-Morgan House: bluegrasstrust.org/hunt-morgan.html | 859.253.0362
The Oliver Perry Mansion was built in 1846 and served as Union officers’ quarters at Camp Nelson. Serenity Hill Farm features a living history animal farm with a restored log cabin with interpretation along with educational and craft programs. High Bridge Historic Museum includes local railroad and river artifacts and interpretation.
Oliver Perry Mansion: jessamineco.com/tourism/nelson.html | 859.881.5716
Serenity Hill Fiber Farm: www.historynfiberforewe.com | 859.536.5056
High Bridge Historic Park and Museum: www.destinationjessamine.com | 859.492.3115
The Log Cane Ridge Meeting House was built in 1791 and is the largest one-room log structure in the U.S. It was the birthplace of the Disciples of Christ Church. Built in 1788, Duncan Tavern now serves as the headquarters of the Kentucky Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution.
The Log Cane Meeting House: caneridge.org | 859.987.5350
Duncan Tavern: kentuckydar.org | 202.628.1776
Richmond – parks.ky.gov/parks/historicsites/white-hall/default.aspx | 859.623.9178
White Hall State Historic Site is the 44-room Italianate home of statesman and abolitionist Cassius Marcellus Clay.
The restored Stanford L&N depot offers displays of railroad memorabilia. The William Whitley House was Kentucky’s first brick house – also circular racetrack.
Stanford Depot: stanford-lincolncountytourism.com/what_to_do.html | 606.365.0207
William Whitley House: parks.ky.gov/parks/historicsites/william-whitley/default.aspx | 606.355.2881
The Jack Jouett House was built in 1793 by Captain Jouett, one of the state’s first importers of purebred horses and cattle. Pisgah Presbyterian Church was established in 1784 as the first Presbyterian Church west of the Alleghenies.
Jack Jouett House: jouetthouse.org | 859.873.7902
Pisgah Pres Church: pisgahpresbyterian.org | 859.873.4161
Holly Rood Historic Home was built in 1814 by James Clark, the 12th governor of Kentucky. The Bluegrass Heritage Museum is housed in a handsome Richardson-Romanesque building.
Holly Rood House: kentuckytourism.com/things_to_do | 859.745.6664
The Bluegrass Heritage Museum: bgheritage.com | 859.745.1358